Thursday, March 31, 2011

Bull!

More sculptures at Santa Fe's Ghost Ranch offices by Peter Woytuk.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Update On New Los Alamos High School Construction

Progress being made since last photo of the hole in the ground.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Strange Clouds Once Again

Interesting cloud formation over White Rock on a Spring day.

Monday, March 28, 2011

Raven Sentinel in a Blossoming Cottonwood.

Los Alamos means "the cottonwood." Here a Raven stands guard in a blossoming cottonwood tree.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Another one of those cars

What if it get's muddy? Just hose it down?

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Breakfast at Viola's on Saturday

Saturday morning is the only time I can get up to Viola's for breakfast. The rest of the week the lines are long at breakfast and lunch for this great, simple, home cooked New Mexican food and hamburgers.

Friday, March 25, 2011

Elephants in Santa Fe?

Elephant sculptures at the Ghost Ranch offices in Santa Fe, NM. Ghost Ranch has offices in Santa Fe in a addition to the much larger location in Abiquiu.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Spring Has Sprung?

Seem like overnight, some trees, not many, are showing signs of green. Los Alamos/White Rocks' altitude (7000 feet + or - 700 feet) and our cold nights (25F / 4C last night)...spring does not come early here. I stopped on the way home and took a picture of this early sign of spring.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Jemez Mountains View

Jemez Mountains showing Pajarito Ski area above Los Alamos. Photo was taken on way home from mesa top before dropping down to Ojo Caliente on US 285.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Pollen, Pollen, Everywhere!

The male Juniper plants are loaded with pollen this time of year causing all kinds of complications. Pump into this branch and "smoke cloud" of pollen erupts.The Juniper is dioecious, having separate male and female trees. Below is the much less troublesome female Juniper trees.


Monday, March 21, 2011

Supermoon

Supermoon rising over the Sangre de Cristos in New Mexico. However, I need to learn more about my camera to actually get a picture of the moon like some of these.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Interesting Colums

Thought these columns holding up this front porch of this house were interesting.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Caballo Peak

Cabollo Peak prominent land feature of Los Alamos.

Friday, March 18, 2011

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon from The Wildlife Center in Española, NM

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

The Old Capital Building In Santa Fe, NM

Before they built the "Roundhouse," this was the old capital building. Seen here from the Roundhouse.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Mural Inside Los Portillos

Mural inside Los Portrillos restaurant in Santa Fe.

Monday, March 14, 2011

Buffalo At The Roundhouse?

Buffalo head art work hanging on the wall inside the NM Capitol "Roundhouse" is made of "trash."

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Let's Play

Dogs at the dog park in Los Alamos. Both Los Alamos and White Rock have small dog parks the are often very busy.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Clouds Over The Jemez

Interesting cloud formations over Pajarito Plateau.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Rocking Chairs

Outdoor waiting area at The Hill Diner

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Ruby K's Bagel Cafe

Ruby K's is a popular spot to grab a bite to eat for breakfast and lunch.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Bumper Stickers

Saw this car in a Santa Fe parking lot and just had to take a picture of it.

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Looking Up To The Ski Hill

View of the Pajarito Mountain Ski Area from Los Alamos golf course area. Note the foot hill in the foreground and to the left of the ski hill show the signs of 2000's Cerro Grande fire. Here's a link to the Google Maps view.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Sure Signs of Spring?

Two separate flocks of Sandhill Cranes can be seen above this Piñon Pine tree. For a few weeks ever spring, Sandhill flocks fly north along the Rio Grande Flyway and south in the fall.. These three pictures were of taken within 20 minutes of three different flocks. About 10,000 cranes winter at Bosque del Apache in New Mexico before flying north to breeding grounds.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Hope Springs Eternal.

Signs of Spring in Santa Fe. Buds on this tree just outside the Merry 'Ole Roundhouse.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

Taos Stores

Shopping area with boutique stores just off the Plaza in Taos, NM.

Friday, March 4, 2011

Dove feeding frenzy usually every afternoon in the back yard if I've remembered to put out the bird seed.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Los Alamos Cooperative Market Opens

The Los Alamos Cooperative Market opened at noon on Wed, March 2. I expected balloons but they said it would be a "soft" opening. It is open and parking lot was full. Here's what it looked like back in September.  Below is the produce section and below that are the shoppers spending money and a link to other photos.
Other opening day photos on Facebook

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Large Ponderosa Who's Time Has Come

Large dead Ponderosa Pine in the Jemez Mountains.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Fenn- Nedra Matteucci Galleries in Santa Fe

Large statue of a Native American outside the  Fenn-Nedra Matteucci Galleries in Santa Fe