Monday, January 31, 2011

White Rock Post Office

The White Rock Post Office originally had it's own zip code, 87546. White Rock is part of Los Alamos, NM and had has the same zip as the rest of the county.

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Polyanna at the Library

Statue outside the front doors of the Mesa Public Library is called Pollyanna.

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Ridgeview Vet

Took Old Man Tucker (the wonder dog) to Ridgeview for a check up. For a 12 yr old large breed dog, he's doing as well as can be expected. A lot of time, money, and love put into remodeling this building into a state of the art veterinary hospital. [To the right, in the back ground, is the Los Alamos County Animal Shelter. ]

Friday, January 28, 2011

Mesa View

View of one of the mesas on way to Española, NM showing various layers found in the Española Badlands or Barrancas. Layers were probably deposited  before the Rio Grande became the flowing river and are loaded with volcanic ash from various area volcanic eruptions along the Rio Grande Rift.

Thursday, January 27, 2011

CB Fox

CB Fox has been in the same location in Los Alamos for 48 years selling everything from clothing, to furniture, to luggage.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Pizza Time

Time Out Pizzeria in White Rock is located in a former McDonald's. Pretty good pizza and also has game room with pool tales and air hockey. In the background you can see an old Pizza Hut which has been closed many years and building is for sale..

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Front Porch Memories

I took this picture when I was doing some election canvassing in late October. Their backyard is amazing and I'll take pictures this summer and post them on the blog.

Monday, January 24, 2011

Basalt Cliffs of White Rock Canyon

Basalt volcanic cliffs on edge of White Rock Canyon. In the area called "hell's hole" by local teens, it's steeper and deeper than it looks in this picture. [I stand corrected. "Hell's Hole" is a cave in the sides of this steep canyon.]

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Front Gate:Back Gate

Above: "Front" Gate established in '48 just after the end of WWII to maintain security. Front Gate came down in 1957. Below: "Back" Gate once guarded the entrance to Los Alamos from the Jemez Mountains. 

Saturday, January 22, 2011

A View From Inside The Library

Interesting architecture inside Los Alamos County's Mesa Public Library.

Friday, January 21, 2011

Tucker. Man's Best Friend

Our 12 yr old Golden Lab mix. Getting older and slower and still man's best friend.

Thursday, January 20, 2011

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Kiva Fireplace at The Shed

The corner kiva fireplace at The Shed restaurant in Santa Fe where you wait to be seated - if there's room.

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Horses in La Senda

Who's watching who? These horses watching me take their picture in the La Senda housing area next door to White Rock.

Monday, January 17, 2011

Sunday, January 16, 2011

The Road to Bandelier

Driving from WR towards the entrance to Bandelier National Monument on NM 4. Jemez Mtns in background.

Saturday, January 15, 2011

Bent Street Cafe & Deli in Taos

Bent Street Cafe and Deli just north of the Taos Plaza is a good place to stop and get a late breakfast or and early lunch.

Friday, January 14, 2011

Triple Chair Lift

Triple Chair Aspen chair lift at Pajarito Mountain Ski Area.

Thursday, January 13, 2011

Los Potrillos in Santa Fe

Los Potrillos in Santa Fe has one of the more unique menus in the city and has great food and service.

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Black Mesa in the Morning

View of Black Mesa from the south in the early morning. Black Mesa is often seen in the background of western movies old and new. Other views of Black Mesa and San Ildefonso Pueblo.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Lunch Time at Pajarito Mountain


Lunch time at Pajarito Mountain Ski Area gives some rest time to skis and snow boards.

Monday, January 10, 2011

Carne Adovada and Red Chile Burrito

At Angelina's in Española : My carne adovada, 2 eggs over easy, and red potatoes. Above, my wife's sausage breakfast burrito (egss and potatoes) with red chile. Really good tasting! Really healthy? Did I mention really tasty?

Sunday, January 9, 2011

Eldorado Hotel (Santa Fe) Lobby

Found the ceiling and the "drum" lights at Santa Fe's Eldorado Hotel lobby an interesting subject.

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Angelina's Restaurant in Española, NM

Food at Angelina's is good anytime and always busy. We often go for breakfast. I get two eggs over easy with carne adovado. Hmmm! Good! My wife gets the breakfast burrito with sausage and red chile. (See Jan 10, 2011 Los Alamos Daily Photo)

Friday, January 7, 2011

Snow Covered Chamisa

Snow blanketing Chamisa (Rabbit Brush) after last snow storm.

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Nexus

Statue entitled "Nexus" stands as you enter the downtown area of Los Alamos.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Hotel La Fonda de Taos on the Taos Plaza in Taos, NM.  Below another photo experiment of the same location.
In camera "drawing" mode.

Monday, January 3, 2011

Snow on the Sangre de Cristos

View of distance snow laden Sangre de Cristo peaks looking east from NM 4 on the way to White Rock

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Ski Area is FINALLY OPEN!!!!


Pajarito Mountain ski area, just outside Los Alamos (about 13 miles from my house), is finally open. PM was to have snow making capabilities this year until the new reservoir had to be drained due to a leak caused by ice. {I never caught the ski bug and have not been in several years.)

Saturday, January 1, 2011

Happy New Year View From Los Alamos

View from the scenic pull off on the Main Hill Road to Los Alamos. (Experimenting with panoramic pics before the recent snow storm).