Saturday, October 29, 2011

Sunflowers

With colder weather predicted soon, this may be the end of sunflowers. This large sunflower was kept company by a field of sunflowers.

Friday, October 28, 2011

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

18th Fairway

18th fairway at the Los Alamos Golf Course. No golphers on this warm fall day due to the cross country meet.Tough to give up the nice day but for a worth cause.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Cheers At The Finish Shoot

Large supportive crowd at the finish line of the Topper meet. Notice the pink socks for Breast Cancer Awareness month.

Monday, October 24, 2011

Horse and Buggy

Nice day to get in a nice horse and buggy ride around La Senda area of White Rock before the cold weather sets in this week.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Future of Topper Cross Country In Good Hands

Here the lead is taken by two Los Alamos High School "C" team cross country runners. Just behind them, another pack of LAHS runners. At the finish line (below), these two runners #1 and #2 and Toppers taking the next 8 spots as well.
At this last regular season, the Toppers took top honors in the girl's race. Topper boys were second behind large school the Cleveland Storm from Rio Ranch, NM. 

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Nice Fall Weather

Fall weather is the best time of year in Los Alamos - most say.

Friday, October 21, 2011

Radio Controlled Car Track at Overlook

The Overlook Raceway for radio controlled cars has a track on the north side (above) of the area and a separate one on the south side (below).You can see more pictures at http://rcnm.net/tracklayouts.html

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Visitor At Work

What was that above the door? A closer look below....
A migrating bat at rest...sleeping....

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Sangre de Christo Panorama

Fall afternoon view of the Sangre de Christo Mountains from White Rock Overlook Park

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Late Fall Afternoon Bike Ride

Nice fall afternoon for a bike ride and taking some pictures.  Below is my "bike" which is an Anura recumbent trike.

Monday, October 17, 2011

It's a Bird! It's Superman! It's a Model Plane

Finally got a decent shot of this model airplane when it flew by closer to the ground. Below the "pilot" pilots the plane.



Sunday, October 16, 2011

Occupy Santa Fe

Stopped by and joined the crowd for awhile at the Occupy Santa Fe rally in front of the State Capitol (The Roundhouse). Group marched from the Bank of America location. They voluntarily vacated a private lot across the street from the bank where a small group had been camped out for a couple of weeks. All kinds of people at this rally including several friends.



Saturday, October 15, 2011

Fire Brigade to the Rescue

I need to find out more about this Los Alamos Fire Brigade truck that was in the recent LAHS Homecoming Parade.

Friday, October 14, 2011

Camera Shy Pronghorns

Pronghorn Antelope decide they didn't want their picture taken.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Drive Carefully. They Are Watching!

Open range for cattle and horses in along this northern New Mexico highway.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

"Herd" of Cub Scouts In The Homecoming Parade

All seemed to have a bag of candy to hand and throw out. Good news for dentists.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Snow and Aspens

This time of year one can find green leaves, yellow, orange, and some red right along with early Fall snow.

Monday, October 10, 2011

Blooming Chamisa and the Bee

The Chamisa are starting to bloom and it's warm enough that the bees are still buzzing.

Sunday, October 9, 2011

Virginia in New Mexico?

Virginia Creeper vines are found everywhere around Los Alamos. Shouldn't they be called New Mexico Creepers?

Saturday, October 8, 2011

Cockatoo Homecoming?

Two Cockatoos marching near the end of the end of the recent LAHS Homecoming Parade.


Friday, October 7, 2011

Oct 6 Sunrise Brings Magnificent Skies and Weather Warning

A few minutes later seen below. These clouds are the leading edge of winter weather warning. Snow accumulations up to 5 inches above 8500 ft. White Rock sits at 6300 feet above sea level while the "Hill," Los Alamos, is 7300 feet.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Inside the Santa Fe Humane Society's Resale Store

Next door to shelters spay and neuter center is their resale store along with a few cats up for adoption.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Santa Fe Human Society S-N Clinic and Resale Store

Santa Fe Humane Society Spay Neuter Clinic is next door to the Human Society's thrift store. The clinic serves low income pet owners.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Still Warm Enough For Outside Dining

Central Avenue Grill, Starbucks on the corner, and Ruby K's around the corner still has outside seating during these warm Fall days.

Monday, October 3, 2011

KRSN Radio In The Homecoming Parade

KRSN Radio 1490 AM float in the LAHS Homecoming Parade. You can actually listen online to KRSN.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Saturday, October 1, 2011

The Homecoming Parade Starts

Los Alamos High School's Navy Jr. ROTC Honor Guard leads the way