Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Burn Scars Above Los Alamos

Black burn scars from the July Las Conchas Fire on the side of the Jemez Mountains just outside Los Alamos. (Those are not shadows)

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Eagle Carving

Looks like an old tree stump carved into an eagle in the front of a home in White Rock

Monday, August 29, 2011

Puff Ball?

Even after all the drought and hot weather, when the summer monsoons came, so did this puff ball in my front yard. Amazing how nature strives for life and grabs onto the opportunities when presented.

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Noon Time Bikers In Training

Bikers out training at noontime on the edge of the back burn area of the Las Conchas fire.

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Early Morning Clouds

Above: Looking northeast from rim of White Rock Canyon low cloud layer above ground and below the Sangre de Christos mountains. Below: Same morning cloud layer looking southeast from rim.

Friday, August 26, 2011

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Late Afternoon Clouds

Above: Clouds over the Sangre de Christo Mountains. Below: I turned around and took pictures of the clouds above the Jemez Mountains.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

No Art Comment

Some art work in Santa Fe requires no explanation. At least, I can't explain it.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Suds. Suds. Everywhere!

The kids really seemed to enjoy this fun activity with suds blowing everywhere during the Los Alamos County Fair at Ashley Pond.

Monday, August 22, 2011

Rail Runner

Rail Runner leaving Santa Fe, heading for Albuquerque.

Sunday, August 21, 2011

Rainbow

Nice rainbow over the mesas.

Saturday, August 20, 2011

Orange Hot Rods

At the Chamberfest again. I find the cars fascinating and appreciate the time, effort, and love it must take to make these a pleasure to look at (and drive).

Friday, August 19, 2011

Arts and Crafts Fair

Lots of folks at the Arts and Crafts Fair as part of last weekends County Fair.

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Kenny's BBQ Is Very Popular

Kenny's North Carolina BBQ a very popular food attraction at the Los Alamos County Fair. Kenny's is planning on opening up a brick and mortar restaurant in White Rock at Katherine's former location.

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Ruby K's

People sitting outside at Ruby K's in Los Alamos.

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Result of the recent Las Conchas fire in July along the road near the entrance to Bandelier National Monument - most of which still remains closed.

Monday, August 15, 2011

Los Alamos County Fair Parade 2011

The 2011 Los Alamos County Fair parade starts up and  heads for Central Park Square along Canyon Road. Lots of people showed up on a nice sunny day, not too hot. It did start raining around 2:30 PM, however.

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Fish-Eye View of Taos Shopping

Looks like this picture is from Christmas time. With all the hot weather we've been having. Colder winter temps sound pretty good about now.

Thursday, August 11, 2011

New Dental Office

New site for the dental office my where my wife works. It's the open door at the far end of this shot of the Central Park Square in Los Alamos. It's the former site of the LA Subs/Day Light Donuts. Donuts and subs are gone and the first days bugs in the new office mostly worked out.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Statue In The Cathedral Park - Santa Fe

Took this photo of a statue in the midst of the park next to the Santa Fe Cathedral. In the picture below, you can see the statue in the center of the arts and crafts fair.

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

One More Chamberfest Car Photo

Interesting cars at Chamberfest. Don't have the details on this one....but nice color me thinks.

Monday, August 8, 2011

Ink Cap Mushroom

When ever it rains hard, as it has lately, ink cap mushrooms show up overnight in my front yard. Amazing how fast they can grow.

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Española Valley

Green Española Valley seen from White Rock Overlook with Black Mesa in the middle and Otowi Mesa to the right.

Saturday, August 6, 2011

More Corvettes

I don't own a Corvette. Don't think I've ever ridden in one; Never driven one. In fact, I'm not sure I could get out of one after getting in? (These pictures taken at the Chamberfest in Los Alamos)




Friday, August 5, 2011

School's Starting Soon!

Española High School bus on the highway reminds me that school is starting soon in NM. Española about 15 miles north east of Los Alamos.

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Can You Tell Me What This Is?

Bushy tree in my yard that seems to be able to propagate and grow into nearby areas. I thought I looked this up once and found its name. Can't remember and can't find. Do you know what it is?

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Mandelbrot Graffiti On Metzger's Wall


Mandelbrot Set fractal pattern painted on the side wall of Methzger's in Los Alamos. Is it art or graffiti. Me thinks it's art!

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Wedding Reception At Fuller Lodge

Busy activity in preparation for a wedding reception on the Fuller Lodge lawn. Hope the weather held out.

Monday, August 1, 2011

Los Alamos Is A Running Town

Lots of runners in town. The Los Alamos High School is often nationally ranked in cross country. World class runners like Anthony Sandoval, Ric Rojas, and Lynne Bjorkland came from Los Alamos alongnwith several All Americans and National Champs who ran for Adams State Collegee powerhouse in Alamosa, Colorado - look it up.